Cookies and Beer

Ok, how about pretzels and beer? Gluten free of course. Well, I have tried many of the GF beers! Weird to say “many” in this context. It is actually only a few but it seems like many choices, actually it is many choices, compared to ten years ago when I could not find any gluten free beer and I had not discovered any pretzels…

So, my favorite beer by virtue of availability in the Northeast of the US and price, but mostly taste, would have to be Redbridge beer.

The down side with all of the gluten free beers that I have sampled is not the taste, because there are more than a couple of lovely ones, it is the calorie/filling reality. Redbridge for example, tastes and feels the lightest of the ones I have drunk but it still turns out to be a 160 calorie per bottle according to the Budweiser customer support line.

Back when I drank “normal” beer, I never liked any Bud product. I tended toward the Guinness and Harp but those beers did not fill me up like the sorghum based beers.

Now, there is an amazing tasting and amazingly expensive beer from Europe that is probably the most drinkable GF beer. The company is called Green’s. They seem to have quite a few different brews; of the few I have tasted I was very impressed with their “dubble” dark endeavor but around the northeast one bottle runs over $5 !

3 Responses

  1. Suddenly, I crave a beer. Like you, pre-celiac I preferred dark beers – and a good black & tan always made my day. Hopefully I can find a Green’s distributor in N.C., where I live.

  2. Good luck Vicki, it is worth seeking out and having someone order it for you, a decent store will do this…

    Oh, and one of the Green’s brews other than Endeavour packs a really surprising punch, I think it’s fermented in the bottle…

  3. Oh, ya, the Green’s bottles are rather large – 500 ML/ 1PT .9oz – a product of Belgium.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

