SillyCeliactics_2: Pasta Is Made of Pasta

“You can have pasta right? It doesn’t have any meat,” accompanied by a genuinely hopeful look of confusion.

“No, I’m sorry I can’t eat most pasta, it is pretty much made up entirely of wheat which has all the gluten you could hope to put into a grain,” accompanied by a sorrowful look of….sorrow.

“Oh. It has wheat? Pasta? I thought pasta was made of pasta?” very confused look now.

“I know, I thought pasta was made of pasta too before I realized the celiac disease thing….but it isn’t, pasta is definitely made from wheat which contains gluten,” I explain most clearly.

“Yah, but the ingredients say that it is made just with durum which is what all pasta is made of, the best pasta anyway,” she explains convincingly.

“Oh, yah. It is kinda confusing but durum is actually a type of wheat. Now, you’re right it is a very nice type of wheat, but it’s wheat,” I quietly whisper as I look around to see if anyone else is following this top secret conversation.

~~~

All “SillyCeliactics” are recordings of actual conversations entertained by Federation Members. The names and locations have been changed or altered to protect the innocents…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: