GlutenFree Pizza at a Pizza Parlor: Nirvana, of a Sort, Confirmed.

Ok, it has been well over a week since I had the still somewhat unbelievable experience of going, looking at a menu, and ordering a complete GF pizza pie meal at Flatbread. Dessert too! And, what with the passage of time and the thorough “survey” of three different pies (I had them partially cook the take homes, reheated @ 350 and they were like there, man, wood-taste intact) I can confirm that their GlutenFree process of cooking up pies in a wood-fired oven seems to work. Oh yah, it tastes great and they use mucho local/organic/fresh stuff.

Their goat cheese salad was truly remarkable for it’s tasty incredibly fresh tang. I really hoovered it as you can see:

Their GF crusts are made by a third -party; the below image has the info on their source for the crusts:

And as strange, or is that gross, as it may seem the most amazing thing about the whole experience was seeing in the fridge, later in the week, a take-home pizza and even leftovers in a wonderfully “greasy” cardboard box

(the last time I had a leftover pizza box they only came in a waxy white flimsy model. Their boxes are fit for resale after use or building another Flatbread restaurant or something. OK, I’m stopping here. Gotta plan when to drive that hour to the closest Flatbread… Hey, comment will ya?

Oh, they also had two GF beers! I had the Redbridge as I was not in the mood for Bard’s Tale (ssh! I’m drinkin’ one now), nice as it be…

The dessert. Don’t forget the dessert, for goodness sakes. It was a GF Whoopie Pie with GF Vanilla ice cream. Try getting the pie warmed, I think it would taste best thusly served especially with the ice cream…

Hmmm. So what was the pie like? Very dry, smoky, somewhat crisp, substantial tasty crust, light sauce, various toppings were all quite nice and fresh. I had topping such as:homemade sausage, mushroom, onions, carmalized onions, various cheeses, olives and other stuff…. I’m hungry again.

One Response

  1. I didn’t realize that ANYone yearned for a greasy pizza box. Now I see the depths, the compassionate pie whole, the oily decadence sliced eight ways.

Leave a Reply

