Jimmy My Ice Cream

That’s what they call sprinkles or chocolatey topping bits around the Boston area and other parts of New England: Jimmies.

You can’t count on all Jimmies being GF, I have come across ones that use wheat as an ingredient.

Though I have heard more than a few people say the Jimmies are made of wax, I have never seen one that actually contained wax…

These ones are made in Germany. I paid something crazy like $2.10 at a local supermarket’s “health” aisle for an ounce. Thats about enough for a couple of dishes of ice cream, where I come from…

Their consistency is a bit “crunchier” than your average jimmy, found at your average ice cream parlor. They have more of a cocoa taste than other jimmies. And as far as size goes these jimmies are quite thin but a few millimeters up from a dimension that I would regard as hairy (and yes I have had hairy jimmies (they don’t tickle a bit) and they are quite appealing as they melt as opposed to crunch or squish as do some of the too big jimmies).

I want Ice Cream, now.

2 Responses

  1. first, this blog is totally adorable!

    secondly, my roommate, a non celiac, is an ice cream loving girl who believes everything is better with sprinkles, or jimmies if you will. I’ll have to tell her there are some good gluten free sprinkle options out there – she’ll be happy to have the excuse to try new ones out with me!

    http://glutenfreeincleveland.blogspot.com

  2. Yes, jimmies make everything better. Especially donuts. Heat up a glazed or frosted GF donut so that the goop will allow the jimmy a soft bed and presto you have a totally transformed food.

    thanks.

Leave a Reply

